Jean-Claude Juncker

Jean-Claude Juncker is a Luxembourgian politician currently who served as the President of the European Commission. Prior to assuming this office, he had served as the Prime Minister of Luxembourg for eighteen years. Born in Redange, Luxembourg, he studied at the University of Strasbourg and got a postgraduate degree in law. He was also sworn into the Luxembourg Bar Council in 1980; however, he never practiced law. Shortly after he left university, his political career began as he was appointed as a Parliamentary Secretary. He won the election to the Chamber of Deputies, where he was appointed to the Cabinet of the Prime Minister as the Minister of Labor. He was soon promoted to the Minister of Finance. He was also offered a position as a member of the board of Governors at the World Bank. He was appointed the Prime Minister of Luxembourg on 20th January 1995, after which he left his post at the World Bank, but continued as the Minister of Finance. He served as the prime minister till 2013.

Comité d'honneur of the EYP

Comité d'honneur

Thorbjørn Jagland

Mr Thorbjørn Jagland was elected Secretary General of the Council of Europe in September 2009.  In June 2014, he was re-elected, and his second term in office commenced

on 1 October, 2014.

He was the President of the Storting (Norwegian Parliament) from 2005 to 2009.

He is a member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which awards the Nobel Peace Prize every year.

He has held two of the most influential governmental positions in Norway: Prime Minister (1996-97) and Minister of Foreign Affairs (2000-2001).

After serving as Foreign Minister, he was Chairman of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and the enlarged Foreign Affairs Committee in the Storting for four years (2001-2005). He also served as Chairman of the EEA Consultative Committee during this period (2000-2005). In addition, he has held a number of other parliamentary positions, such as head of the Storting's Delegation for Relations with the European Parliament for six years.

He was a member of the Storting for 15 years.

Mr Jagland was Leader of the Norwegian Labour Party for ten years (1992-2002), and Party Secretary of the Labour Party for five years (1987-1992).

He is currently the Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Oslo centre for Peace and Human Rights, and Member of the International Board of Governors at the Peres Center for Peace.

He served as Vice-President of the Socialist International 1999-2008, and Chair of the Social International Middle East Committee from 2000 to 2006. He was a member of the Sharm El-Sheikh Fact-finding Commission (The Mitchell Commission) from 2000 to 2001.

Over the last 20 years, Mr Jagland has published widely on a range of issues, in particular on European and international affairs. He has published four books in Norway: My European Dream (1990), Letters(1995), Our Vulnerable World (2001) and Ten Theses on the EU and Norway (2003).

He holds a degree in Economics from the University of Oslo (1975). He was born on 5 November 1950 in Drammen, Norway. He is married to Hanne Grotjord. They have two children.

Comité d'honneur of the EYP

Federica Mogherini

Federica Mogherini is the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission since 1st November 2014. She was the Italian Minister for Foreign Affairs from February to October 2014 and a Member of the Italian Parliament (Chamber of Deputies), where she was elected for the first time in 2008.

During her terms in parliament, she was the Head of the Italian Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and Vice-President of its Political Committee (2013-2014); member of the Italian Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (2008-2013); Secretary of the Defence Committee (2008-2013) and member of the Foreign Affairs Committee. She has also coordinated the Inter-Parliamentary Group for Development Cooperation.


She is a member of IAI – Istituto Affari Internazionali – and a fellow of the German Marshall Fund for the United States.

I am also a member of the European Leadership Network for Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament and Non-Proliferation (ELN) and of the Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO).

She was born in Rome in 1973 and graduated in Political Science at the University of Rome “La Sapienza”.

Comité d'honneur of the EYP

Mario Monti

Comité d'honneur of the International Session

Mario Monti is President of Bocconi University and Senator for life of the Republic of Italy.

He was Prime Minister of Italy (November 2011-April 2013) as well as Minister of Economy and Finance during a part of that period (November 2011-July 2012). He led a government of national unity
to steer Italy out of the financial crisis and to help improve the governance of the Eurozone. The Italian government was key in the negotiations leading to the Euro Summit agreement of 29 June 2012 which launched the banking union and achieved the acceptance by all heads of governments of stabilizing interventions in sovereign bond markets, under certain conditions.


Previously, he had served for ten years as a member of the European Commission, in charge of the Internal Market, Financial Services and Tax Policy (1995-1999), then of Competition (1999-2004).

He was the founding Chairman of IGIER (Innocenzo Gasparini Institute for Economic Research), launched in 1990 at Bocconi University jointly with CEPR and NBER. He was also the founding
Chairman of Bruegel, the Brussels-based European think-tank launched in 2005.

He is a member of the “Institut de France” (Académie des Sciences morales et politiques), Chairman of the Advisory Board of the School of Transnational Governance at the European University Institute,
and Honorary European Chairman of the Trilateral Commission.

He served as chair or member of several consultative committees in Italy (e. g. the Monti Committee on Banking and Financial Reform, Italian Treasury, 1982), UK (Roll Committee on the Independence
of the Bank of England, CEPR, 2003), France (Attali Committee on economic growth in France, Presidency of the Republic, 2007).

At the EU level, he produced the “Report on a New Strategy for the Single Market”, 2010, for the President of the Commission ; chaired the group set up by Parliament, Council and Commission which
presented the report on “The Future of EU Finances”, 2017 ; and in 2018-2019 chaired the high-level search committee established by the Commission to select the next president of ERC (European
Research Council), to take office in January 2020.


Born in Varese, Italy, in 1943, he graduated from Bocconi University and pursued graduate studies atYale University. He was professor of Economics at the Universities of Trento and Torino, then at
Bocconi, where he was Rector (1989-1994) and is currently President.

With the support of

With the high patronage of

With the patronage of

With the patronage of

With the patronage of

in partnership  with

With the support of